LIGHT WINDOWS LIVE

The International Day of Light
May 16, 2020

May 16 marks the date that the first laser was created in 1960 and was chosen to celebrate the remarkable achievements of light based arts and technologies around the world. The International Day of Light furthers UNESCOs goals of education, equality, and peace.

Hannah Noh Dance Partner for LIGHT WINDOWS
Hanna Noh
Dance Partner
May 16, 18 and 30
Cologne, 10pm CEST / 4pm EDT
YOUTUBE
6:30pm EDT
Cocktail Q&A with Martina Mrongovius
[HoloCenter Creative Director]
Say hello, share your projects and ask questions about LIGHT WINDOWS
3D paper folding clip with Kate Yourke from Make:STEAM
Sarah Song
The Drifting Consciousness
Sím Residency – Reykjavík, Iceland
7:30pm EDT / 11:30pm GMT
@simresidency IGTV
Julia Sinelnikova
aka the Oracle
online opening of Diaphanous Web
Refuge Arts, Brooklyn
@or_cale livestream clip
& late night DJ set
Eric Leiser laser sun Light windows installation
Eric Leiser
Laser Sun May 16, 17 & 18
San Diago, (8-11pm PST)
11pm – 1am EDT
@EricLeiser Final performance

Vaughn Sadie
Window Ornament
Cape Town, South Africa
1pm EDT / 7pm SAST
@Vaughn_Sadie
Valeria Divinorüm and
Jonathan Sims
at Paradice Palase
Art stream 7-10pm
Artist discussion at 8pm
@ParadicePalase IGTV
Liquidverse
Steve Pavlosky aka Liquid Light Lab
& composer Ricardo Romaneiro
at Nancy Manocherian’s the cell, Manhattan, 9-10pm EDT
Liquidverse – Recording

Holly Danger
The Living Room Lounge
Stamford CT
May 16, 9 – 10:30pm EDT
Facebook recording
Part2 on YouTube
Sofy Yuditskaya with Ria Rajaon
Electric Unicycle Altars
Performance at The Speakeasy at Chatusbo
Midnight EDT / 9pm PST
@xtra.spectra

-ONLINE ART STREAMS-

Ray Park
Wind
Seoul, South Korea
@rayhologramart
Jonathan Sims A Song Against Sickness artwork in the windows of Flux Factory for HoloCenter LightWindows
Jonathan Sims
A Song for Sickness
Flux Factory, Queens
@chromadetic
Valeria Divinorüm
Flower of Life
Paradise Place, Brooklyn
@valeriadivinorum IGTV
Wen-Han Chang
Glare of Water
every night until May 17
Facebook Live
Camilla Padgitt-Coles
The Tuning Window
Pineapple Reality, Brooklyn
@ivymedows IGTV
Mischa Kuball private dsico
Mischa Kuball
private disco

To download and create with artist videos check out private disco by Mischa Kuball in Düsseldorf, The Drifting Consciousness by Sarah Song in Reykjavík and Peace Lights by Pete Rogina and Eileen Cohen

Threads of Light, is a collaboration between Lorne Covington and contemporary textile artist Gerri Spilka. Covington, who creates interactive artwork and installations as Noirflux, manipulated images of Spilka’s large-scale art quilts by adding movement. The resulting work is a changing textile of pattern and light visible at Schweinfurth Art Center
205 Genesee Street, Auburn. May 16-31, 2020 from 9 pm to 5 am.

Full screen the map to see all locations.
Zoom in or use the location links to reveal more artwork

WORLD| EUROPE | Nth AMERICA
NEW YORK | MELBOURNE | COLOGNE | BERLIN

LIGHT WINDOWS #lightwindows

Artists around the world illuminate windows with art during May 2020.

Explore the map and create your own LIGHT WINDOWS to send a message of unity and hope.

About LIGHT WINDOWS

HoloCenter Exhibitions are supported by New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; and by, the Queens Council on the Arts with public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council; and by, the generosity of individuals.